How We Began – read more
What We Provide – read more
Our Board – read more
How YOU can help – read more

We Are Inclusive!

In these divisive times, GSSN provides an opportunity for all to unite behind our common goals of strong families and communities. We welcome diverse opinions and seek to meet people where they are. We strive to promote understanding and empathy, and encourage constructive dialog.

Contact Information

Mailing address: Geauga SOGI, 8584 Washington St. #220, Chagrin Falls, OH 44023
Email: info@geaugasogi.org
Phone: 440-682-0680

Privacy Notice

Effective date: April 4, 2022

The Geauga SOGI Support Network (GSSN) considers privacy to be a serious matter. We do not capture any personally identifiable information about users of our website. GSSN does not request personal addresses, and does not send direct mailings. No photos or videos are permitted at events without authorization.

Individuals may voluntarily provide information in order to make a donation, register for an event, or subscribe to our email list. GSSN may use this information for subsequent contact; including confirmations, acknowledgments, and information updates. Unless authorized, GSSN does not exchange personal information with third parties.

Recipients may unsubscribe from our email list by using the “unsubscribe” link or by return email. We will also completely remove your contact information if requested. Please feel free to contact us at info@geaugasogi.org for clarifications regarding this privacy notice, or if your information is inaccurate or changes.

Changes to this privacy notice may be made from time to time. Notice of such changes will appear on our website and may also be emailed to our subscribers.

How We Began

Geauga SOGI Support Network (GSSN) was established through collaborative efforts of individuals and agency staff to create supportive programs for LGBTQ+ individuals and their families. The founding board, comprised of family members, counselors, and individuals on the SOGI spectrum, began meeting in January 2020. To fully understand the needs in our area, board members spoke with SOGI youth and adults, and with staff in schools, agencies, churches, and civic groups.

We received a resoundingly positive response, and realized that our mission must be broadened to provide support and training for all types of community organizations. To accomplish this, we partnered with regional and national SOGI organizations who have well-developed resources and training curriculums.

In April 2020, GSSN became an independent, 501(c)3 non-profit organization. Geauga SOGI support groups are free and open to all residents of Geauga County and surrounding areas. Please scroll down for information on how YOU can help us. We thank the Buckeye Flame for this article chronicling our history and current focus.

What We Provide

  • Adult/parent Peer Support Groups for individuals, families, and friends.
  • Youth Support Groups for Middle School and High School youth.
  • Community education and awareness events including movie sponsorships.
  • Family social gatherings.
  • Collaboration with schools to assist with professional development and student diversity clubs.
  • Networking with local agencies, businesses, churches, and civic organizations.

Our Board

President: Chris Steigerwald, M.Ed
Vice President: Minna Zelch, M.Ed, Facebook Admin.
George Purgert, LISW-S
Vanessa Jensen, PsyD ABPP
Sam Cregar, LREA
Paulette Hare, BS, MBA
Jared Hammond, MT-BC, CTRP-C

Geauga SOGI Support Network needs YOU!

Donate via PayPal or send a check to our mailing address (above) made out to “Geauga SOGI Support Network”.

Join our board or a committee – seeking individuals with time and passion. Please email info@geaugasogi.org to learn about a variety of opportunities for all interests, skills, and time commitments.

Volunteer for events – help with planning, executing, or just setup or assistance during an event.

Collaborate – Let us know what you or your organization needs, or can provide to others.

Stay informed – educate yourself on issues affecting SOGI individuals.

Join our mailing listemail us to receive updates and future newsletters or use the Join Our Mailing list feature on the Home page.

Like our Facebook Page – keep up with news and advocacy information.

Speak Out – great allies seize every opportunity to educate and pass the word to help create awareness. Support efforts at your workplace to create an open and affirming environment.

© 2024 Geauga SOGI Support Network . Powered by WordPress. Theme by Viva Themes.